RSS

“Yes, I’m CRABBY.. in a GOOD way!” ;p

30 Aug

Iron Chef America, Next Iron Chef, Masterchef US & Australia, Junior Masterchef,  Hell’s Kitchen (current fave!) Rachael Ray, Mario Batali, Bobby Flay, Cat Cora, Giada DeLaurentiis, Emeril, Italian, Japanese, of course Filipino Dishes… I’m sure you can guess by now that I am a certified foodie and a cooking enthusiast based on the shows I regularly watch and my favorite chefs.

Being an article writer for a demanding (yet nice when I get to meet the deadline.. lol!) foreign employer and having a 24/7 “job” of being a daughter, sister, wifey and mother can sometimes take its toll on my “sanity”. Not that I abhor what I do and don’t love my family! Heck, I love everything about my life. But sometimes, I do take some “alone time” to make sure that I get my wits back to normal. And that “me time” is cooking.

I’m sure cooking enthusiasts like me will understand that behind the mess, heat, effort in slicing and dicing, even smelling like fish and onion (most of the time!), is a different kind of “peace” that no spa treatment or shopping can ever give. Add to that the feeling of fulfillment when you finally get to plate the food to your liking and hear the people who has satisfied their hunger say that it’s the “BEST”  thing they’ve ever tasted! Yeah, yeah, mostly may be biased comments since most of the people who’ve tasted my cooking are family members but still it gives me such pleasure to hear those things. =D I can’t even think of a word to describe the feeling — ORGASMIC I guess can be used but still a bit of an understatement. LOL!

Cooking is what I do best and what I love doing for my family. I have tried different kinds of recipes with different kinds of ingredients except for one — crabs. I love eating these wonderful sea creatures especially when cooked in coconut milk but alas! I can’t do it in my household because my brother and hubby are allergic to them. That’s why out of all the seafood choices, eating crabs is what I typically crave for. But when I do get to travel, another “alone time” fave of mine, let’s just say that if other people write down things that they’d do during vacation, I write down names of places where they serve crabs instead.

I mentioned earlier that I love traveling, too, right? And out of all the places I’ve been to my favorite is Boracay. Yup, I love the beach, the sand, the sunset, etc, etc but the real reason I love it there is the place gives me all the things that I “crave” for. It’s like hitting 2 birds with 1 stone. Bora is my zen — just lying on the beach ’til sunset without having to think about work. It’s having to think about no one but myself.. And within this zen is my “food heaven”. Nope, not the many restaurants within the 3 stations there! Ghad, I didn’t travel all the way to that place just to eat at another fine dining resto or a fast food joint which abound here in Manila, too! The food heaven that I’m talking about is — D’Talipapa! And with all the seafood that one can choose from, again, orgasmic is way, way an understatement! Running the risk of my blog being rated “R”, I’ll just let the pictures do the talking instead. Chow, err, I mean, ciao! ;p

"Yes, I'm crabby.. in a good way!" ;p

“Urban dictionary defines crabby as: cranky bitchy grumpy irritable crabs crab moody bitch mean crotchety angry grouchy..

1proudmama (me!) dictionary defines it as: crab-deprived/crab-craving/crab-loving me!

Of course, you can also use the first definition on me when I’m not able to satisfy my craving.. like “I can be really crabby when I don’t get my crabby!” Well, you know what I mean.” =D


Join Certified Foodies’ First Anniversary Giveway where you can win gift certificates, food gift packs, cash prizes and even a food trip date with the foodie siblings! To join, click on the banner above. And we’d like to thank their partners…

Partners:

Be a Lifesaver Of GoodnessMy Pink WasabiOrange Magazine TVBarbie Dress Up Games
Pinoy Food BlogFilipino RecipesMy so-called worldPinoy.MD
One Day GraphicsI Am FilAmLife of a Filipina BloggerRishee Wishee

Hot Fun Stuffs / Food and Fashion Blog / Baguio Girl / Mahlzeit / Ruthilicious / jared’s little corner / Stay at Home Blessings / Shy Girls Own / Travel Monologue / Delight My Appetite / Vector Dad / Pinoy Holistic Healthcare / {cherry} everyday / Jefrox News / The Misis Chronicles

The Cookie Jar / Familia Foodie / NomNom Club / Let’s Go Sago / Noob Foodie / Philippine Travel Promos / GEORYL: Welcome to Our World / Techie She / Wentot’s Thoughts / LEVYousa / Living Life to the Fullest! / Food and Happy Things / Impulsive Buyer Goes Organic / YipeeMedia / Filipino Blog / Kizuna / The Life Encounters / My bric-a-brac / The Food Encounters / The Geek Side of blankPixels / A Woman Remembers / Adventuring Foodie / Nash Goes Chenelyn / Deej Speaks / Certified Pinoy Reviewer / Kwento Ni Toto / MAG of My Life / Delectable Ideas / Joy’s Flair / Home Buddies / Mike Mamaril / Fedhz on the Go / Easy on Yz / Yz Little Steps / Samu’t Sari Online Store / Your Filipino Virtual Assistants / Filipino Virtual Assistant / Ken Avenue / Shop Pinay / Day Dreaming Mommy

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2011 in My Articles

 

Leave a Reply

 
