RSS

I’m Not Getting Old – Just Getting Wiser!

10 Mar

It’s a fact that most of us are afraid of getting old. We associate old to being wrinkly and boring. We also have a lot of reasons why we are afraid of growing old: some are afraid of being old alone, others senseless. A lot are afraid to lose their beauty and still more afraid of losing the excitement of youth. I, too, fear a lot about getting old. I’m afraid to grow old not accomplishing my dreams, not being able to give my parents and siblings the life that I want them to have in appreciation for the great life they’ve given me, not being able to give my child the best things in life, not being able to give my husband my role of being the best wife. But then, I realized, if I wallow in all my fears, I won’t actually be able to do what I needed to do to realize all my dreams for my loved ones; and especially, for myself. And so, my dear friends let me share some insights about breezing through “growing old.”

 

First of all, accept that getting old is inevitable. Once we have accepted that, everything else will come easier. I noticed that in this world, there’s always a hustle and bustle to a lot of things. People date because they deem it fashionable or they’re desperate. Some people marry because they’re miserable and some have kids because they think they’re running out of time. It is smarter to take things slow since at times winning is not the end result to some of life’s hasty decisions, only regrets. Don’t sleep around because you think you can afford it and you know better. Don’t be tough and hurt your children because loving them is tougher. Don’t settle for Mr. Right Now and most of all don’t waste your life on definitely Mr. Wrong just because your biological clock is ticking.

 

There are times when you need to be alone to have clarity of mind. To end your lonesomeness, connect with the dispossessed. To feed your fostering nature, tend to the poor. To satisfy your parenting desires, adopt a puppy. To be warm, purchase a coat. Eventually, you’ll discover that it’s much less complicated. To achieve happiness, follow your dreams, be satisfied with what you have and be the best of what God has planned you to be. It will be best to simplify your life. Having lots of friends is good, but having a few, great and trustworthy friends are better. Working to have a good life is good, but don’t overwork yourself to death. Always be true to your word. Don’t keep suitors waiting pointlessly, but don’t commit when you’re still not ready.

 

Fall in love when you think the feeling is ripe – it’s the most wonderful thing on earth. Don’t be afraid to say “I Love You!” Say it with abandon. Love deeply. Hold hands. Kiss with passion. The relationship may end, but at least you can say to yourself that you gave yourself the chance to love unconditionally. Don’t be afraid to lose love, it comes with the territory. Just remember that after the fall always comes the rise. And eventually, you will meet your Mr. Right who will give you the unconditional love which you deserve.

 

Life indeed doesn’t get any easier with age. It may get difficult but don’t be afraid. Keep control of your life, be satisfied with what you have, accept that things may be harsh and aging is inevitable. Most of all don’t lose faith in God. By doing even a small percentage of these things, you’ll discover that life isn’t half as bad and you’re happier. By then you can proudly say, “I’m not getting old… just getting wiser!”

 

 

Kathryn Angeles Dilay, EzineArticles.com Basic Author

http://ezinearticles.com/?Im-Not-Getting-Old—Just-Getting-Wiser!&id=4557092

http://ezinearticles.com/?expert=Kathryn_Angeles_Dilay

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2011 in My EzineArticles, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “I’m Not Getting Old – Just Getting Wiser!

  1. HCG diet program

    September 12, 2011 at 4:04 am

    I tend to agree with your point, but honestly don’t you think a more moderate solution is the correct one?

     
  2. HCG

    September 22, 2011 at 4:33 am

    Very interesting information! I have been reading on here for awhile off and on, and I finally wanted to make my first comment and reveal myself 😉 I really like some of the news I’ve seen here.

     
  3. p2p4u basketball

    November 3, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

     

Leave a Reply

 
